Spring Literary Festival

2014's Lit Fest will be March 26th through March 28th and we will be thrilled to welcome (from left) fiction writer Andrea Barrett, poet Frank Bidart, essayist Sven Birkerts, fiction writer Ben Fountain, and essayist Rebecca Solnit.

Events on the 26th, the 27th, and the morning of the 28th will be held in Walter Hall Rotunda. Friday night's festivities will take place in Baker Center theater.

Tentative Event Schedule

Wednesday, March 26th, Walter Hall Rotunda

  • 7:30 Sven Birkerts Reading
  • 8:30 Andrea Barrett Reading

Thursday, March 27th, Walter Hall Rotunda

  • 11:00 Ben Fountain Lecture
  • 12:00 Rebecca Solnit Lecture

  • 7:30 Sven Birkerts Lecture
  • 8:30 Frank Bidart Reading

Friday, March 28th, Walter Hall Rotunda

  • 11:00 Andrea Barrett Lecture
  • 12:00 Frank Bidart Lecture

CLOSING NIGHT! March 28th, Baker Center theater

  • 7:30 Rebecca Solnit Reading
  • 8:30 Ben Fountain Reading


Since 1986, The Spring Literary Festival has featured some of the world's finest, most distinguished writers of poetry, fiction and nonfiction. The three-day festival is held in May on the Ohio University campus in Athens, Ohio. It is sponsored by the Program in Creative Writing of the Department of English and is generously funded by the College of Arts and Sciences. All readings and lectures are free and open to the public. We invite you to join us.

The five visiting writers will be present throughout the festival, lecturing and reading from their work, and books by the authors will be available for purchase after each program, and at Little Professor Book Center.

For more information, contact David Wanczyk, Spring Literary Festival Coordinator, at davidwanczyk@gmail.com.

Past Spring Literary Festival attendees include Paul Auster, John Ashbery, Russell Banks, Frank Bidart, Billy Collins, Lydia Davis, William Gass, Donald Hall, Barry Hannah, Terrance Hayes, Elizabeth Hardwick, Amy Hempel, Tony Hoagland, Kenneth Koch, Denise Levertov, Barry Lopez, Heather McHugh, W.S. Merwin, Czeslaw Milosz, N. Scott Momaday, Lorrie Moore, Mary Oliver, Susan Orlean, Cynthia Ozick, Grace Paley, Francine Prose, Richard Rodriguez, Marilynne Robinson, George Saunders, Leslie Marmon Silko, Charles Simic, James Tate, John Edgar Wideman, Geoffrey Wolff.

See complete Spring Literary Festival History here.





Photos from Spring Literary Festival 2011, courtesy of Fred Viebahn

Clockwise from top left: Rita Dove and Tobias Wolff before their reading on Friday night. // Rita Dove, Zakes Mda, Debra Marquart, Amrit Singh, and Dinty W. Moore, at Zoe in Athens. // Mark Halliday, Rita Dove, Rosellen Brown, Dinty W. Moore, and Eric LeMay enjoy the Lit Fest after-party. // Padgett Powell (with his daughter) chats with Rita Dove outside Restaurant Salaam. //